How to Report Child Abuse
The law requires any person who believes that a child (or person 65 years or older or an adult with disabilities) is being abused, neglected, or exploited, to report the circumstance to the proper authority (DFPS or Law Enforcement). A person making a report is immune from civil or criminal liability, and the name of the person making the report can be kept confidential.
You are required to make a report if you have any reason to believe that abuse might have occurred. You must make a report even if you have no way of confirming your suspicions.
- To report an emergency, call 911.
- Call the Abuse Hotline, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, toll-free 1-800-252-5400.
- For situations that do not require 24 hour contact, use the secure internet website: www.txabusehotline.org
- Relay Texas may be used to call the Abuse Hotline by dialing 711 or 1-800-735-2989.
Texas Abuse & Neglect Hotline 1-800-252-5400
(To report abuse or neglect concerns. — 24 hr availability )
Texas Runaway Hotline 1-800-580-HELP
(Peer counseling to runaways & caretakers — 24 hr availability )
Texas Youth Hotline 1-800-210-2278
(Peer counseling to youth & adults — 24 hr availability )